• Close

Press Release

YES BANK Announces Appointment of Ms Radha Singh as Non-Executive Chairperson

RBI approves appointment for a 2 year period

Mumbai, August 7, 2014:YES BANK, India’s fourth largest private sector Bank announced the appointment of Ms. Radha Singh as Non-Executive Chairperson of the Board.

The Reserve Bank of India, pursuant to the provisions of the BR Act, and basis Ms. Radha Singh’s outstanding credentials and experience, has approved her appointment as Non-Executive Chairperson of YES BANK’s Board for a tenor of 2 years, from the date of her taking charge, vide its letter dated August 1, 2014.

Ms. Radha Singh who has served on the Board of YES BANK as an Independent Director since April 2008, has contributed to almost all the sub-committees of the Board over the past 6 years, and is currently also the Chair of the newly constituted Corporate Social Responsibility Board Sub-Committee.

Ms. Radha Singh is a retired officer of the Indian Administrative Service, with over 39 years of experience in public service areas of agriculture and rural development, Co-operation, water resources, public finance and institution building. She was previously serving as the Union Agriculture & Cooperation Secretary till November 2006, and was responsible for the formulation and implementation of the National Agriculture Policy. In this role, she was actively involved in strengthening and building resilience in the Agriculture and Cooperative sector through a number of specific initiatives. Prior to being appointed as Union Agriculture and Cooperation Secretary, Ms. Singh also headed multifarious organisations as Board Member of the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT); Chairperson, Managing Committee, National Horticulture Board and various other government, industry bodies.

Ms. Singh has done her B.A. (Hon) History & Social Sciences, and M.A. Social and Political Sciences from the University of Delhi. She also has a Master’s Degree in Public Policy & Administration, from Harvard University, USA.

Radha Singh’s appointment as the Non-Executive Chairperson of YES BANK is subsequent to the 10th AGM of YES BANK held on June 14, 2014, where the shareholders had unanimously approved her reappointment as an Independent Director. Shareholders had also approved, under the provisions of the Companies Act, 2013, all the 12 resolutions put forth by YES BANK management, with an overwhelming majority including the appointment of independent directors, viz., (i) Lt. Gen (Retd.) Mr. Mukesh Sabharwal, (ii) Mr. Ravish Chopra, (iii) Mr.Brahm Dutt, and the 2 newly inducted directors Mr. Saurabh Srivastava and Mr. Vasant. V. Gujarathi.

With this appointment, YES BANK’s Board constitution is as follows:

  1. Ms Radha Singh, Non Executive Chairperson*
  2. Mr. Ajay Vohra, Independent Director
  3. Lt General (Retd.) Mukesh Sabharwal, Independent Director
  4. Mr. Diwan Arun Nanda, Independent Director
  5. Mr. Ravish Chopra, Independent Director
  6. Mr Brahm Dutt, Independent Director
  7. Mr. Saurabh Srivastava, Independent Director
  8. Mr. Vasant V Gujarathi, Independent Director
  9. Mr. M R Srinivasan, Non Executive Non Independent Director
  10. Mr. Rana Kapoor, Managing Director & CEO

* From the date of her taking charge

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Rana Kapoor, MD and CEO, YES BANK, said, "Ms. Radha Singh is a senior and experienced leader, and highly respected in Indian Industry, given her impeccable track record and valued contributions. At YES BANK, she has ably guided the development of food & agri and other PSL oriented knowledge driven policies. Her interventions over the last 6 years as an Independent Director on YES BANK’s Board have been significant in YES BANK’s evolution and its present stature as the 4th largest private sector Bank in India. We look forward to her continued guidance as Chairperson of YES BANK in scaling the Bank in its next phase of growth, as also in further building on our Bank’s institutional character as the Professionals’ bank of India”.


YES BANK, India’s fourth largest private sector Bank, is the outcome of the professional & entrepreneurial commitment, vision & strategy of its Founder Rana Kapoor and his top management team, to establish a high quality, customer centric, service driven, private Indian Bank catering to the Future Businesses of India.

YES BANK has adopted international best practices, the highest standards of service quality and operational excellence, and offers comprehensive banking and financial solutions to all its valued customers. YES BANK has a knowledge driven approach to banking, and a superior customer experience for its retail, corporate and emerging corporate banking clients. YES BANK is steadily evolving its organizational character as the Professionals’ Bank of India with the uncompromising Vision of “Building the Best Quality Bank of the World in India by 2020!

For media queries, please contact:

YES BANK Limited
Krunal Mehta

Adfactors PR
Jyothi Goswami

download app
Android App for YES BANK
App Store for YES BANK
yes pay wallet

Digital Wallet with free Virtual card and UPI which can be used to send/receive money, mobile/DTH recharge, pay bills and much more

Read More